Increasing prescriptions and myopia control

When I was a kid, my prescription kept increasing no matter what. My dad told me to rest my eyes after a long period of reading . Reading was my favorite thing to do and I loved to read my Babysitters Club and Nancy Drew mysteries non-stop. I believe I did not listen so well or maybe it’s genetics, but my prescription quickly increased every other year.  There was no myopia control or management in the past. I only wished I could wear contact lenses when I turned 12 and not only wear glasses. Isn’t it lucky my parents owned an optical?

My myopia became worse even in early teenage years until I steadied in late teenage years. At that time, I also tried Corneal Refractive Therapy, rigid gas permeable lenses to sleep with at night. If it was successful, I wouldn’t need to wear glasses in the daytime. However, my cornea was too flat, so I was not the right candidate. I had residual nearsightedness of one or two diopters which was not a success. I gradually turned back to my prescription of -5.50 and -4.00.

Right now, children that have a history of myopia in the family have a chance to try something different that can manage their chance of increasing prescription. No one wants to wear heavy lenses when the prescription gets to -4.00 and above.

Modern lifestyle has children spend too much time in front of tablets or tv and not enough time outdoors.  It is fortunate that now we have myopia control tools like soft contact lenses like the brand Misight so that children as young as eight can wear the contacts to control the progression of myopia. Misight slows myopia progression and corrects vision at the same time.

I believe it’s exciting that children can have a chance to control nearsightedness by having an option of soft contact lenses. I have a young son and I always try to reduce his time on the Ipad or in front of the TV. You can encourage your young child to spend an hour or two outdoors in order to lessen their chance of having too much time in front of digital devices. Fresh air doesn’t hurt anyone!

Learn more about Misight at my www.mottoptical.com stores today. 

Leave a comment